In this series of posts, I’ve been focusing on food therapy, with a little Chinese herbal therapy thrown in to help treat wind-cold and wind-heat invasions, which tend to spread quickly this time of year.  In the previous post, apples were the star of the show for helping moisten a dry cough, dry skin, and more.  In this post, cabbage ~ one of the vegetable underdogs ~ and onions, walnuts & honey take center stage.  Sound weird?  I assure you, it is super soothing and delicious.  And, I’ll throw another apple into the fray.

I ate this Cabbage & Onions all day while nursing my own dry cough and loss of voice today.  (I was not good about resting my voice yesterday like I should have!) The Cabbage & Onions get cooked so soft, it’s almost soupy.  Tossed with walnuts and honey, it’s a very enjoyable dish, and very alkalizing, so it was energizing as well.  I could eat like this more often!

As I mentioned at the end of the last post, in Chinese Dietary Therapy, Liu Jilin lists walnuts, honey, pears, and persimmons among other foods for nourishing the lung yin.  Cabbage is also used for heat in the lungs, and the stomach.  Cabbage can be juiced or cooked, and can help relieve stomach pain and spasms, including from ulcers.  It can also be helpful for difficulty urinating.

Cabbage has a sweet flavor which especially comes out when really cooked.  It has a slightly cold nature, so it is good for clearing up excess heat symptoms, which are always marked by more color, odor, and irritability.  Cabbage contains some proteins, fat, carotin, B vitamins, Vitamin C, bioflavonoids, iron, and phosphorus.  According to Jilin, it also contains “chlorogenic acid, allyisothiocyanate and vitamin U-like substances which can promote the healing of ulceration.”

Onions are also loaded with many healthful nutrient, including quercitin which is excellent for helping prevent or treat colds, allergies, and helping resolve excess phlegm.

Not bad!  Cabbage leaves can also be placed on strains to reduce swelling.  They keep well in the fridge, and are so easy to cook, you may want to consider having cabbage as one of your regular weekly staple vegetables.

Cabbage & Onions with Walnuts & Honey

  • 1 sweet or yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 small head, or 1/2-3/4 of a larger head of cabbage, chopped
  • 1 apple, chopped, optional
  • Sea salt
  • 1/4-1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • Honey
  • 2 tsp. flax oil, per serving

Onions can be sliced across the grain (traditional slice) or with the grain to create half-moon shapes.  Cabbage can be cut across the top, about half-way down, then placed on the cutting board, and cut into wedges, or chunks.

Place a little bit of water in a skillet, then add the onion.  Pile the cabbage on top, then add the apple, if using.

Season with sea salt.  (About 1/3 tsp.)  Pour a little more water over the cabbage.  When the water is near a boil, cover, then let it simmer on medium-low for about 20 minutes.  Make sure there is enough water in the pan to prevent scorching, and to create a bit of broth.

In a small, heat proof bowl, place the walnuts, then cover with honey.  Place in a steamer pot, and let them steam heat on medium for about 10 minutes.

To serve, Place cabbage & onions in serving bowls, like a shallow pasta bowl.  Toss with flax oil.  Then top each bowl with some of the walnuts and honey.

img_1828
Cabbage & Onions w/ Walnuts & Honey,  topped w/ some morning oats ~ a very soothing and satisfying breakfast

Variations:

The above was what I had for my first meal, after the Carrot & Daikon Healing Remedy.  Don had made an oatmeal blend up which also had some walnuts and raisins in it.  I put a little of the oats on my cabbage, along with the walnuts with honey.  I found this meal very satisfying.  It was more veg, less grain, and very soothing with the warm, sweet broth.  The walnuts and flax oil are also very anti-inflammatory, and provide lasting satiety.

img_1827
Carrot & Daikon Macrobiotic Healing Remedy with added scallions

For my next meal, I repeated the Cabbage & Onion mixture, without the apple.

I served the Cabbage & Onions with separately steamed russet potatoes, sliced, and some beet that I had boiled.  I also decided to have a little protein, so I quickly heated up some Westsoy seitan pieces in the juice it comes packed in.  I just had all this in one bowl ~ the Cabbage & Onions, sliced potato wedges, and sliced beet, along with some more walnuts & honey that I had leftover from breakfast. I drizzled a little more flax oil over the potatoes.  (Sorry, forgot to take pictures!)

It seemed like a lot lighter meal to me, although I felt adequately fed, not over full, and free of cravings for anything else.  It actually seemed to energize me.  I enjoyed the higher nut and oil combined with the potassium-rich, alkaline meal.

Give it a try, you may like it as well.  This could be an excellent recipe for those desiring weight loss as well!  Filling and yet light.

 

Leave a Reply

